Roy reveals Reds squad selection

Premier League clubs had until 5pm on Wednesday to subject their

selections to the Premier League. Sides are now required to include

at least eight ‘home-grown’ players within their ranks and no more

than 17 ‘non home-grown’ stars. Liverpool have sprung few surprises

in their squad and have stuck with their tried and tested

performers. The likes of Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard have

made the cut, while Babel, who came close to leaving on transfer

deadline day, is also included. All of Hodgson’s summer signings

are included, with Brad Jones, Paul Konchesky, Fabuo Aurelio, Milan

Jovanovic, Raul Meireles and Christian Poulsen all offered a squad

number. Throughout the season top flight clubs are allowed to

supplement their selection with an unlimited amount of players

under the age of 21, meaning another summer capture, Jonjo Shelvey,

could also be included at some stage. French forward David Ngog

also falls into that category, so while not in the original 21-man

list, he is eligible for Premier League duty. Liverpool’s 21-man

squad: Jamie Carragher, Joe Cole, Stephen Darby, Steven Gerrard,

Glen Johnson, Brad Jones, Paul Konchesky, Jay Spearing, Daniel

Agger, Fabio Aurelio, Ryan Babel, Milan Jovanovic, Dirk Kuyt,

Sotirios Kyrgiakos, Lucas Leiva, Raul Meireles, Christian Poulsen,

Pepe Reina, Maxi Rodriguez, Martin Skrtel, Fernando Torres.