Reyna, Meola lead new eligibles for US Soccer Hall

Former national team captain Claudio Reyna and goalkeeper Tony

Meola are among 12 first-time eligible players for the U.S. Soccer

Hall of Fame.

The U.S. Soccer Federation said Tuesday other newly eligible

players are: Jose Burciaga Jr., Ronald Cerritos, Lorrie Fair, Jen

Lalor-Nielsen, Ronnie O’Brien, Ante Razov, David Regis, Thori

Staples Bryan, Greg Vanney and Kerry Zavagnin.

Holdovers on the 31-player ballot include Mike Burns, Peter

Nowak, Carlos Valderrama and Peter Vermes, all in their final year

of regular eligibility.

Players must appear on at least two-third of the regular ballots

to gain election. Voters include Hall of Famers, administrators and


The veterans ballot includes George Best, Teofilo Cubillas, Shep

Messing and Glenn Myernick. The top player on the veterans ballot

needs 50 percent for election.

U.S. soccer no longer has a building for its hall. The one in

Oneonta, N.Y., closed two years ago.