Portland Timbers get Champions League spot

The Portland Timbers will compete in CONCACAF’s 2014-15

Champions League under a U.S. allocation change approved


Portland earned the spot as the MLS team with the best record in

the conference opposite the Supporters’ Shield winner as the

regular-season points champion. Previously, that spot went to the

MLS Cup runner-up.

The other three U.S. spots remained unchanged, with the New York

Red Bulls getting in as the Supporters’ Shield winner, Sporting

Kansas City as the MLS Cup champion, and D.C. United as the Lamar

Hunt U.S. Open Cup winner.