Peru 1, Mexico 0

Paolo Guerrero scored in the 83rd minute to give Peru a

well-earned 1-0 victory over Mexico on Friday in the Copa


After a lifeless first half, Peru had a half-dozen clear scoring

chances in the second half – hitting the post twice – before

Guerrero broke through against outstanding Mexico goalkeeper Luis


Chile and Peru each have 4 points to lead Group C after two

matches. Uruguay, which drew 1-1 against Chile earlier on Friday,

has 2 and Mexico has 0 points.

In the final group matches, Chile faces Peru and Uruguay plays

Mexico. Mexico and Costa Rica are playing mostly under-23 players

in the tournament, as guest entries from the CONCACAF region.

The top two teams in each of the three groups advance to the

quarterfinal. In addition, the best two third-place teams


Peru was frustrated by a series of missed opportunities before

Guerrero finally broke through, taking a through-ball and calmly

driving it into the open side of the net.

Guerrero had missed a wide-open header in the 50th, the best

early chance for either team in the match. His diving header

flashed wide.

In the 59th, Juan Vargas hit the far post. Minutes later,

Guerrero drove the ball over the crossbar. With the match still

scoreless, Vargas hit the post again. As well as the woodwork,

Mexico relied upon Michel to keep the game goalless, with the

keeper making several diving saves.

Mexico came close to opening the scoring in the 79th minute when

Giovani Dos Santos forced keeper Raul Fernandez to make a diving


The match was played in a nearly empty stadium, which had been

full for the earlier game between neighboring Chile and



Peru: Raul Fernandez, Giancarlo Carmona, Santiago Acasiete,

Alberto Rodriguez, Walter Vilchez, Carlos Lobaton (Josepmir Ballon,

85), Adan Balbin, Rinaldo Cruzado (Michael Guevara, 76), Juan

Vargas, Luis Advincula (Victor Yotun, 45), Paolo Guerrero.

Mexico: Luis Michel, Darvin Chavez (Miguel Ponce, 73), Nestor

Araujo, Hector Reynoso, Paul Aguilar (Edgar Pacheco, 45), Diego

Reyes, Jorge Enriquez, Hiram Mier, Javier Aquino (Oribe Peralta,

85), Giovani Dos Santos, Rafael Marquez Lugo.