Odemwingie included in Nigeria’s final squad, Mba misses out

Peter Odemwingie makes the Nigeria World Cup squad.

Matthew Childs

Stoke striker Peter Odemwingie has been including in Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the World Cup but Sunday Mba has missed out after not showing enough "hunger", according to coach Stephen Keshi.

Odemwingie has been out of the international side for two years and missed out on the Super Eagles’ success in the African Nations Cup last year after a public spat with Keshi, but will travel to Brazil.

Bastia midfielder Mba scored the winning goal in Nigeria’s 1-0 African Nations Cup final victory over Burkina Faso last year but has been cut after visa issues and a perceived lack of commitment by Keshi.

The Nigeria coach told fifa.com: "His lateness to camp contributed (to his missing out) but outside that he did not show the hunger, the fight, we expected for him. We have only two and (a) half weeks to prepare for the World Cup and he was not giving us what we wanted. He was very relaxed and it was unlike him."

The six other players who will not be on the flight to Brazil next week are Joel Obi (Inter Milan), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis), Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan), Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow), Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves) and Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers).

Nigeria will face Argentina, Bosnia Herzegovina and Iran in Group F.


Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille/FRA), Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva /ISR).

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco/FRA), Efe Ambrose (Celtic/SCO), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor/TUR), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough/ENG), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC/ISR), Joseph Yobo (Norwich City/ENG), Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars).

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea/ENG), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio/ITA), Gabriel Reuben (Beveren/BEL), Michael Uchebo (Cercle Brugge/BEL), Ramon Azeez (Almeria/SPA).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow/RUS), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United/ENG), Victor Moses (Chelsea/ENG), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce/TUR), Peter Odemwingie, (Stoke City/ENG), Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen/NED), Babatunde Michael (Volyn/UKR).