Nineteen included in Latics squad

Latics could have named up to 25 players in their first-team fold,

but have opted to select a smaller group as they do not have enough

‘home-grown’ players to meet new regulations. With a number of

young players who fall under the age of 21 on their books, it has

been decided that they still have enough bodies to last the course.

The likes of Franco Di Santo, Tom Cleverley, Victor Moses and James

McCarthy do not have to be registered in the Premier League squad

lists as top flight clubs can call upon as many players of their

age group as they like. New arrivals Mauro Boselli, Antolin

Alcaraz, James McArthur, Ronnie Stam, Ali Ab Habsi and Steven

Caldwell have been selected by Martinez. Charles N’Zogbia is

another to make the cut, as he remains at the DW Stadium despite

being heavily linked with a move elsewhere. Dutch winger Daniel De

Ridder has also been handed a place in the squad despite struggling

to make an impact with Latics. Wigan squad: Chris Kirland, Mike

Pollitt, Charles N’Zogbia, Emmerson Boyce, Gary Caldwell, Ben

Watson, Steven Caldwell, Hendry Thomas, Ronnie Stam, Jorid Gomez,

Hugo Rodallega, Mohamed Diame, Maynor Figueroa, Steve Gohouri,

Daniel De Ridder, Ali Al Habsi, Antolin Alcaraz, James McArthur,

Mauro Boselli.