Newcastle keeper Tim Krul gets Dutch call-up

Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk called up Newcastle United

goalkeeper Tim Krul on Monday for his team’s friendlies against

Brazil and Uruguay next month.

It is the first call-up for the 23-year-old Krul and comes at

the end of a strong season with Newcastle. Van Marwijk also named

uncapped NEC Nijmegen ‘keeper Jasper Cillessen in his 23-man squad

for the June 4 match against Brazil and June 8 clash with


First-choice goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg is still recovering

from a broken right thumb.

Captain Mark van Bommel will not make the trip to South America

as the AC Milan midfielder is about to undergo minor surgery to his

right leg, Van Marwijk said. Tottenham midfielder Rafael van der

Vaart also is out with a calf injury.

While the Dutch midfield has been weakened by injuries, Inter

Milan playmaker Wesley Sneijder is fit. Sneijder scored a rare

headed goal in the Netherlands’ 2-1 quarterfinal defeat of Brazil

at last year’s World Cup.

The Netherlands forward line is at full strength, and will

likely feature Dirk Kuyt of Liverpool and Bayern Munich winger

Arjen Robben on the flanks, with either Klaas Jan Huntelaar or

Robin van Persie as striker.

Van Persie scored a record ninth successive away goal in the

English Premier League on Sunday in Arsenal’s 2-2 draw at Fulham,

while Huntelaar scored in each half of Schalke’s 5-0 thrashing of

Duisburg in the German Cup final.


Goalkeepers: Michel Vorm (Utrecht), Tim Krul (Newcastle United),

Jasper Cillessen (NEC Nijmegen).

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), John Heitinga

(Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax),

Kevin Strootman (Utrecht), Edson Braafheid (Hoffenheim), Jeffrey

Bruma (Leicester City), Erik Pieters (PSV).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Nigel de Jong

(Manchester City), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia), Stijn Schaars (AZ

Alkmaar), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax).

Forwards: Eljero Elia (Hamburg), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke),

Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben

(Bayern Munich) Luuk de Jong (Twente).