David Villa, Sacha Kljestan, Bradley Wright-Phillips are finalists for MLS MVP

One way or another, the MLS MVP award will head to one of the league's two New York teams.

New York Red Bulls stars Sacha Kljestan and Bradley Wright-Phillips and New York City FC forward David Villa are the finalists for the league's MVP honors–the Landon Donovan MVP Award–the league confirmed on Tuesday.

Wright-Phillips won the league's Golden Boot with 24 goals, while Villa was one off the pace at 23. Kljestan notched a league-high 20 assists. Both of their clubs trail in the Eastern Conference semifinals prior to hosting the second legs, with the Red Bulls falling 1-0 to the Montreal Impact and NYCFC losing 2-0 to Toronto FC in their respective first legs. TFC's Sebastian Giovinco, last year's winner, was omitted from the finalists following a season in which he had 17 goals and 15 assists.

Seattle Sounders and U.S. men's national team forward Jordan Morris is a finalist for the league's Rookie of the Year honors, joined by NYCFC's Jack Harrison and the Philadelphia Union's Keegan Rosenberry.

Colorado Rapids midseason addition Tim Howard is a finalist for Goalkeeper of the Year, along with Philadelphia's Andre Blake and reigning winner and Red Bulls backstop Luis Robles.

GALLERY: 20 years of MLS Cup champions

The Defender of the Year will be a center back from the Western Conference, as FC Dallas's Matt Hedges, LA Galaxy's Jelle Van Damme and Colorado's Axel Sjoberg make up the finalists.

Van Damme is also a finalist for Newcomer of the Year, along with Columbus Crew SC's Ola Kamara and Seattle's Nicolas Lodeiro.

Coach of the Year will come down to Colorado's Pablo Mastroeni, FC Dallas's Oscar Pareja and NYCFC's Patrick Vieira.

The Comeback Player of the Year will be either NYCFC's Frank Lampard, Orlando City's Kevin Molino or Philadelphia's Chris Pontius.


This article originally appeared on