MLS announces players voted into All-Star Game vs. Arsenal

MLS announced the first 11 of their All-Stars that will take on Arsenal in the MLS All-Star Game on July 28. The first crop was littered with many of the league’s biggest stars, including Giovani dos Santos, Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, Didier Drogba, David Villa and Sebastian Giovinco.

The players chosen for the game so far were done so through a fan vote. The first 10 players came from a traditional online voting system, while Villa got in through EA Sports’ "More Than a Vote" Challenge.

There will be a total of 22 more players added to the All-Star team, with the remainder announced on July 17. 20 of those players will be chosen by the MLS team’s coach, Dominic Kinnear, while two will come from Don Garber, who gets to make two commissioner’s picks.

Once the final team is decided, Kinnear will cut the team down to a 22-man gameday roster that will dress and be available for the match against Arsenal at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, CA.

Goalkeeper: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union)

Midfielders: Kaká (Orlando City SC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy)

Forwards: Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), David Villa (New York City FC)