Ten-man Peru hold on for draw with Ecuador

Peru goalkeeper Salomon Libman saved a penalty as his 10-man team easily held Ecuador to a 0-0 draw Tuesday in a friendly international.

Libman’s penalty block was one of three first-half saves that kept his team in the Copa America tuneup match played on neutral turf at ADO The Hague’s Kyocera Stadium.

Dutch referee Eric Braamhaar awarded the spot kick and sent off Christian Ramos after the defender used his hand to save a goal-bound header in the 22nd minute.

Libman then dived to his right to save Ecuador captain Walter Ayovi’s penalty.

Despite being a man down, Peru pressed forward in the second half and came close to stealing the match thanks to a 78th-minute shot by Luis Advincula just two minutes after he came on as a substitute.

Advincula’s shot, tipped just wide by goalkeeper Maximo Banguerra, was Peru’s best effort on goal since the fourth minute when Paolo Guerrero nearly dispossessed Banguerra to score after a lazy backpass.

Libman pulled off his first good save from a 14th-minute free kick by Cristian Noboa and in the 35th he rushed off his line to deny Edson Montano. Montano squandered another good chance just a minute later when he blasted over the bar from 12 meters out.

Taking advantage of its extra man before the break, Ecuador continued to push forward and Isaac Mina nearly slid the ball home at the far post after Jefferson Montero fired a low shot across the face of the goal from a quickly taken corner.

Immediately after the break, Jaime Ayovi surged into the box for Ecuador but his shot was blocked and his team rarely threatened after that as Peru refused to sit back and play for a draw. Lone striker Claudio Pizarro repeatedly threatened the shaky Ecuador defense without managing to get a clear shot on goal.

The Werder Bremen forward was back in the Peru team for his first match in more than three years. He was given an 18-month ban for allegedly partying in a hotel after a World Cup qualifier in 2007. The ban was later reduced on appeal to three months.


Ecuador: Maximo Banguera, Osvaldo Minda, Jorge Guagua, Isaac Mina, Cristian Noboa (Juan Paredes, 69), Mario David Quiroz, Luis Saritama, Jefferson Montero (Pablo Palacios, 84), Jaime Ayovi, Edson Montano, Walter Ayovi (Giovanny Nazareno, 69).

Peru: Salomon Libman, Giancarlo Carmona (Renzo Revoredo, 60), Santiago Acasiete, Christian Ramos, Walter Vilchez, Rinaldo Cruzado, Jean Tragodara (Gonzalez, 60), Michael Guevara (Jesus Rabanal, 30), Juan Vargas (Carlos Lobaton, 60), Paolo Guerrero (Luis Advincula, 75), Claudio Pizarro.