Jones, Pope and Stewart selected for Hall of Fame

Cobi Jones, who played more games for the U.S. men’s team than

anyone else, was elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame on

Tuesday along with three-time World Cup veterans Eddie Pope and

Earnie Stewart.

Jones, a midfielder, made 164 appearances with the U.S., scoring

22 goals and 15 assists. He was a member of the 1994, ’98 and 2002

World Cup teams, and was the captain when the U.S. beat Costa Rica

to win the 2002 Gold Cup. Jones also spent 12 seasons in MLS, all

with the Los Angeles Galaxy, finishing with 70 goals and 91 assists

in 306 games. The Galaxy retired his No. 13 after he finished

playing in October 2007, a first in MLS.

Pope, a defender, started all five matches as the U.S. made it

all the way to the quarterfinals of the 2002 World Cup. He scored

eight goals in 82 games.

Stewart, a midfielder who also had Dutch citizenship, scored the

game-winner in a 2-1 victory over Colombia that sent the Americans

into the round of 16 at the 1994 World Cup in the United States. He

played in four games in 2002, and was the U.S. captain in the 3-2

upset of Portugal.

Joining the three players are Bruce Murray, a midfielder and

forward in the late 1980s and early ’90s who was elected on the

veteran ballot; and Bob Gansler, who coached the Americans when

they returned to the World Cup in 1990 after a 40-year drought and

was chosen on the Builder ballot. The Builder category is designed

to honor those who made a ”major, sustained and positive impact”

for a minimum of 10 years.

The induction ceremony will likely be this summer, but no date

was announced.