Italian referee Rosetti retires from officiating

Robert Rosetti, the World Cup referee who wrongly awarded a goal

to Argentina in its second-round win against Mexico, has retired

from officiating.

Italian newspaper La Repubblica reports that Rosetti will take

up a new role directing referees in the second-tier Serie B


The paper reports Rosetti as saying the controversy, in which

Argentina led 1-0 from an offside goal before winning 3-1, didn’t

affect his decision.

FIFA president Sepp Blatter apologized to Mexico officials for

the error, and Rosetti was not retained for the tournament’s later


The 42-year-old Rosetti could have worked through to the 2012

European Championship before reaching FIFA’s mandatory retirement

of 45. He refereed the Euro 2008 final.