Free-scoring Van Persie picks up 2nd English award

Robin van Persie has been voted the 2012 Footballer of the Year

by England’s writers, the free-scoring Arsenal striker’s second

prestigious award in three days.

Van Persie received the Professional Footballers’ Association

award after voting by his fellow English Premier League players on


The Netherlands international topped the poll of football

journalists ahead of Manchester United pair Wayne Rooney and Paul

Scholes. Fulham forward Clint Dempsey was fourth.

Van Persie has scored 34 goals in all competitions for Arsenal,

virtually carrying his team on his own at times after its poor

start to the season.

Steve Bates, chairman of the Football Writers’ Association, says

Van Persie was the ”overwhelming choice” because ”the quality of

his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season

for the Gunners has been eye-catching.”