Fluminense beats Arsenal 1-0 in Copa Libertadores

Striker Fred scored just three minutes into the match and

Fluminense held on to a 1-0 win over Arsenal of Argentina in both

teams’ opening game in Group 4 of the Copa Libertadores on


Fred got the early winner at the Engenhao stadium with a shot

from inside the area after defender Lisandro Lopez failed to clear

a cross from the left.

Arsenal pressured at the end but was not able to capitalize on

its scoring chances.

Players got into an altercation in the 75th and a few players

shoved each other, prompting the match to be stopped for a few

moments. Fluminense midfielder Wagner and Arsenal forward Nicolas

Aguirre were sent off.

Fluminense also had defender Leandro Euzebio red carded in the

90th following a hard foul.

The other two teams in Group 4 are Argentina’s Boca Juniors and

Venezuela’s Zamora.

Fluminense, which also has Thiago Neves and former Chelsea and

Portugal midfielder Deco in its squad, was runner-up in the 2008

Copa Libertadores, losing the final at home in a penalty shootout

against Ecuador’s Liga de Quito.


Fluminense: Diego Cavalieri, Bruno, Anderson, Leandro Euzebio,

Carlinhos, Edinho, Diguinho (Digao, 90), Wagner, Deco (Wellington

Nem, 72), Thiago Neves, (Rafael Sobis, 65) Fred.

Arsenal: Cristian Campestrini, Hugo Nervo (Adrian Gonzalez, 81),

Lisandro Lopez, Guillermo Burdisso, Damian Perez, Carlos Carbonero,

Ivan Marcone, Gaston Esmerado (Diego Torres, 64), Nicolas Diego

Aguirre, Luciano Leguizamon, Emilio Jose Zelaya (Jorge Cristian

Cordoba, 72).