FIFA to pay World Cup winner $35M prize money

FIFA will give the 2014 World Cup winner $35 million in prize

money, and all 32 competing nations will get at least $8


The figures were agreed Thursday by FIFA’s executive committee

as part of a $576 million fund. It includes payments to clubs

worldwide and an insurance policy to cover injured players’


At the 2010 World Cup, champion Spain earned $30 million from a

$348 million teams’ prize money pot.

FIFA pays the money to the 32 national federations, which will

each get an additional $1.5 million to prepare for the June 12-July

13 tournament in Brazil.

The German federation has promised all 23 players a 300,000

euros ($407,000) bonus for winning the title.