Egypt, South Africa drawn in same qualifying group

Defending champion Egypt has been drawn in the same qualifying

group as South Africa for the 2012 African Cup of Nations.

Egypt and this year’s World Cup host were paired in Group Seven

on Saturday for the tournament co-hosted by Gabon and Equatorial

Guinea. The 44 teams were separated into 11 groups and will compete

for 14 places.

The co-hosts have qualified automatically.

Togo was not part of the process after the Court of Arbitration

for Sport denied its request to be provisionally included earlier

this week. The country was banned from the next two tournaments

after it left last month’s edition following a gun attack on its

team bus.