Egypt, South Africa drawn together

Defending champion Egypt has been drawn in the same qualifying

group as South Africa for the 2012 African Cup of Nations.

Egypt and this year’s World Cup host were paired in Group

Seven on Saturday for the tournament co-hosted by Gabon and

Equatorial Guinea. The 44 teams were separated into 11 groups and

will compete for 14 places.

The co-hosts have qualified automatically.

Togo was not part of the process after the Court of

Arbitration for Sport denied its request to be provisionally

included earlier this week. The country was banned from the next

two tournaments after it left last month’s edition following a gun

attack on its team bus.