Czechs reach Euro playoff by beating Lithuania

The Czech Republic clinched a spot in the playoffs for the 2012

European Championship after Jan Razek and Michail Kadlec both

scored twice Tuesday to secure a 4-1 over Lithuania in their final


The victory means the Czechs finished second in Group I behind

Spain to advance to a playoff for a spot in next year’s tournament

in Poland and Ukraine.

Scotland finished third in the group after losing 3-1 to Spain

on Tuesday.

The Czech side, which lost to Lithuania at home last year,

attacked from the start at the Darius and Girenas Stadium in


Kadlec scored the first goal on a penalty in the second minute

after Lithuanian defender Andrius Skerla brought down Milan Baros.

Rezek doubled the lead in the 16th minute with a precise shot from

13 meters (yards) out.

Rezek scored his second goal just before halftime, heading the

ball past Lithuanian goalkeeper Zydrunas Karcemarskas from 10

meters (yards) out after a brilliant pass from Jaroslav Plasil.

Lithuania battled back in the second half, and pulled a goal

back after Darvydas Sernas was fouled in the penalty area in the

67th minute and converted the spot kick himself. Roman Hubnik was

sent off for fouling Sernas.

Czech goalkeeper Petr Cech saved what seemed to be a certain

goal from Mindaugas Panka’s close-range header in the 82 minute,

but the Czechs put the game beyond reach when substitute Tomas

Pekhart was fouled inside the area in the 84th and Kadlec netted

his second goal from the spot.

Lithuania: Zydrunas Karcemarskas, Ramunas Radavicius, Gediminas

Vicius, Andrius Skerla, Marius Zaliukas, Darvydas Sernas, Robertas

Poskus (Mindaugas Panka, 57th), Saulius Mikoliunas, Linas

Pilibaitis (Ricardas Beniusis, 73rd), Kestutis Ivaskevicius

(Arvydas Novikovas, 46th), Marius Stankevicius.

Czech Republic: Petr Cech, Theodor Gebreselassie, Michal Kadlec,

Roman Hubnik, Tomas Sivok, Jan Rezek (Zdenek Pospech, 82nd), Daniel

Kolar, Jaroslav Plasil, Vaclav Pilar (Daniel Pudil, 70th), Milan

Baros( Tomas Pekhart, 59th), Petr Jiracek.