CONCACAF teams kick off 2014 World Cup qualifiers

Qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil will kick off with a

preliminary round involving teams from the CONCACAF region.

FIFA says the 10 lowest-ranked teams from North and Central

America, and the Caribbean will meet in home-and-away playoffs

scheduled June 3 and 7.

Montserrat plays Belize, Anguilla meets the Dominican Republic,

U.S. Virgin Islands plays the British Virgin Islands, Aruba faces

St. Lucia and Bahamas plays Turks and Caicos.

The five winners join 19 other CONCACAF teams in a group stage

when FIFA conducts the worldwide qualifying draw July 30 in Rio de


Top-ranked CONCACAF countries, including the U.S. and Mexico,

enter at a 12-team third-round stage.

CONCACAF has three guaranteed places in Brazil.