James Rodriguez snatches FIFA’s Puskas Award for goal vs. Uruguay

James Rodriguez's goal against Uruguay helped him claim FIFA's
Puskas Award for 2014.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

James Rodriguez has won the FIFA Puskas Award following his wonder-goal in Colombia’s World Cup win over Uruguay, finishing ahead of Stephanie Roche and Netherlands international Robin van Persie.

The Real Madrid star enjoyed a sublime World Cup, with one of his tournament highlights a stunning turn and volley that set Colombia on their way to a 2-0 round-of-16 win over Uruguay. James’ goal had already been voted as the best of the 2014 World Cup, helping the 23-year-old to claim the Golden Boot prize with a total of six strikes, and earned him 42 percent of the votes for the Puskas prize.


The Colombia international follows in the footsteps of illustrious names such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Zlatan Ibrahimovic, with Hamit Altintop and Miroslav Stoch having also won the award since its introduction in 2009. Roche earned her nomination thanks to a wonder-goal in Peamount’s 2-0 Irish Women’s National League win over Wexford Youths and came second with 33% of the votes.


Van Persie’s magnificent header in Netherlands’ stunning 5-1 World Cup win over Spain earned him third place overall.


FOXSoccer.com and Goal.com have teamed up to bring you the best in world soccer coverage. Visit Goal.com, and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.

More from Goal.com:

Goal Posts – Daily LIVE soccer blog

Goal.com’s Transfer Rumors

Goal.com’s Headlines