Chile 1, Uruguay 1

Alexis Sanchez equalized in the 65th minute to give Chile a 1-1

draw against Uruguay on Friday in the Copa America.

Alvaro Pereira had given Uruguay a 1-0 lead in the 54th minute

in the Group C match.

Chile improved to 4 points from two matches and Uruguay, which

reached the World Cup semifinals a year ago, has 2 points.

Chile’s last group game will be against Peru while Uruguay will

face Mexico, which is fielding an Olympic-style under-23 team as it

is playing as a guest in the 12-team South American


Both teams could have used a victory to guarantee passage to the

second round, where they should be among the favorites.

”Each of these teams showed they have possibilities in this

tournament,” Uruguay coach Oscar Tabarez said.

Uruguay had a couple of chances in an even first half; the best

being Diego Forlan’s header which was stopped on the line by a

Chile defender. Chile had a few close long shots, including one

from Mauricio Isla which hit a post late in the half.

Uruguay took the lead when Luis Suarez dribbled away from

defenders on the left side, then send a perfect pass in front of

the net to Pereira, who took his time and slotted the ball past

keeper Claudio Bravo.

Suarez almost made it 2-0 in the 63rd, forcing Bravo to bat away

a low shot.

However Chile was the better side from then on, and equalized

when Alexis Sanchez – who is the most sought-after player among

Europe’s big clubs during the current offseason – took a centering

pass and slotted home from 12 meters (yards), beating Uruguay

keeper Fernando Muslera.

Chile’s Luis Jimenez almost scored the winner with a header in

the 77th, forcing Muslera into a diving save. Isla pressed Muslera

into another key save five minutes later with Chile dominating but

unable to find the winner.


Uruguay: Fernando Muslera, Diego Lugano, Sebastian Coates,

Martin Caceres, Maximiliano Pereira (Nicolas Lodeiro, 78), Diego

Perez, Egidio Arevalo Rios (Sebastian Eguren, 84), Alvaro Pereira,

Diego Forlan, Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani (Alvaro Gonzalez,


Chile: Claudio Bravo, Pablo Contreras, Waldo Ponce, Gonzalo Jara

(Jorge Valdivia, 60), Mauricio Isla, Gary Medel, Arturo Vidal, Jean

Beausejour (Carlo Carmona, 73), Luis Jimenez, Alexis Sanchez,

Humberto Suazo (Esteban Paredes, 73).