Arjen Robben admits he did dive, but defends himself against accusations

Arjen Robben insists he was fouled for the penalty that led to Holland’s last-gasp 2-1 win over Mexico, but apologized for diving earlier in the match.

The Dutch winger was accused by Mexico boss Miguel Herrera of committing three dives during Sunday’s tie in Fortaleza that saw Netherlands go through to the quarterfinals of the World Cup.

However, Robben said in quotes attributed to Dutch television channel NOS: "The one at the end was a penalty, I was fouled.

"At the same time, I have to apologize as in the first half I took a dive and I really shouldn’t do that.

"That was a stupid, stupid thing to do but sometimes you’re expecting to be struck and then they pull their leg away at the last minute."

Herrera said Portuguese referee Pedro Proenca should have taken action against the Bayern Munich winger.

He told a news conference: "Robben did three dives and he should have been cautioned. You should caution a guy who is trying to cheat, and then if Robben did it again he would be sent off."