Antoine Griezmann’s ghost offside cost Atletico Madrid a place in the Copa del Rey final

Poor refereeing decisions are nothing new in soccer, much less in Spanish soccer where the subject is a never-ending debate topic. Goal decision technology has been the hot subject of discussion in Spain this season, but it was a good old-fashioned wrongfully disallowed offside goal that decided Barcelona and Atletico Madrid’s Copa del Rey semifinal battle.

A beautifully worked piece of play saw Griezmann in behind Barcelona’s defense and slotted through on goal where he dutifully and expectedly stuck the ball in the back of the net. That strike should’ve made the game 1-1, with 30 minutes left to seek a goal to send the match into extra time, but instead, it was ruled out, leaving Griezmann incredulous, Diego Simeone apoplectic, and the Colchoneros with an even harder job to do.

Atletico did pull level in the 82nd minute after this impossibly razor-sharp cutback from Griezmann to find Kevin Gameiro.

It was a beautiful piece of play just like their earlier goal, but it was too little too late. Barcelona reached the Copa del Rey final for the fourth consecutive season, and Atletico saw their chances at a trophy this season dwindle even further.

To make matters even worse? Gameiro hit the crossbar with a penalty in the 80th minute, meaning, in a parallel universe somewhere, Atletico Madrid are through to the Copa del Rey final.

Just try not to think about it too much, Atleti fans.