Morgan taken first in WPS draft

Women’s Professional Soccer held its third annual college draft Friday at the 2011 NSCAA Convention in Baltimore, Maryland.

Surprise few in the audience, expansion Western New York Flash selected California standout and U.S. national team rising star Alex Morgan with the top pick in the draft, while also nabbing Elli Reed as the first defender in the draft with the number eight overall selection.

Philadelphia Independence, last year’s runner-up in the WPS Championship presented by Citi, took local Havertown (PA) product and all-ACC midfielder from Virginia, Sinead Farrelly, with the second overall selection. MAC Hermann trophy-winner Christen Press of Stanford went fourth, after North Carolina midfielder Meghan Klingenberg was selected third.

Among colleges, six schools had multiple picks from their squads including longtime college powers Portland, Notre Dame, UCLA and Virginia. Oklahoma and Wake Forest also had two selections each from their schools. Surprisingly, North Carolina featured just one selection – Klingenberg – among the 24 total picks. In total, 18 different schools had players selected.

WPS CEO Anne-Marie Eileraas officially opened the proceedings by announcing the league’s sixth national sponsor, Sahlen’s Hot Dogs, and looked ahead to the 2011 season which kicks off April 9/10 and includes a two-week break for the 2011 Women’s World Cup. NSCAA President Marcia McDermott also welcomed WPS and its teams as the NSCAA Convention played host to the draft for the third consecutive year.

Round 1

1. Western New York – Alex Morgan, F, California

2. Philadelphia – Sinead Farrelly, MF, Virginia

3. Washington – Meghan Klingenberg, MF, North Carolina (*via trade with Atlanta)

4. Washington – Christen Press, F, Stanford

5. Philadelphia – Lauren Fowlkes, F, Notre Dame

6. Boston Breakers – Keelin Winters, MF, Portland

7. Atlanta – Kylie Wright, MF, UCLA

8. Western New York – Elli Reed, D, Portland

Round 2

9. Philadelphia – Jennifer Stoltenberg, F, Oregon

10. Washington – Omolyn Davis, MF, George Mason

11. Philadelphia – Caitlin Farrell, D, Wake Forest

12. Boston – Whitney Palmer, F, Oklahoma

Round 3

13. Western New York – Rose Augustin, MF, Notre Dame

14. Atlanta – Meghan Lenczyk, F, Virginia

15. Philadelphia – Lauren Barnes, D, UCLA

16. Sky Blue FC – Alyssa Mautz, MF, Texas A&M

17. Washington – Amanda DaCosta, MF, Florida State

18. Philadelphia – Bianca D’Agostino, MF, Wake Forest

19. Boston – Katie Sheeleigh, F, Harvard

Round 4

20. Western New York – Ashleigh Bowers, GK, Niagara

21. Sky Blue FC – Lauren Alkek, D, Oklahoma

22. Washington – Katie Fraine, GK, Florida

23. Philadelphia – Teresa Rynier, MF, James Madison

24. Boston – Tanya Taylor, F, UC Irvine