Ajax claims fourth consecutive Eredivisie crown

Ajax claimed their fourth straight Dutch league title.

VI-Images/VI-Images via Getty Images

AMSTERDAM (AP) Ajax has won its 33rd Dutch league title – and its fourth straight championship – after drawing at Heracles Almelo 1-1 Sunday.

Lasse Schone put Ajax ahead with a free kick after 13 minutes. Almelo’s Simon Cziommer equalized 10 minutes later, also through a free kick, and an out-of-form Ajax went for the draw.

Last week Ajax lost the Dutch Cup final with a humiliating 5-1 defeat against PEC Zwolle.

Other Dutch teams have won four straight championships – PSV Eindhoven has done it twice – but the 43-year-old Frank de Boer becomes the first coach to win four in a row.