US names roster for CONCACAF Under-20 Championship

United States under-20 coach Tab Ramos included 18 professional players and 7 MLS products on his 20-man roster for the upcoming CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

AFP/AFP/Getty Images

The CONCACAF Under-20 Championship kicks off Friday in Jamaica, and the final rosters were released Monday morning.

Last week, Jurgen Klinsmann spoke of the importance of developing youth and finding prospects who are ready to break through to the top level using tournaments such as the U-20 Championship and the Olympics.

Coach Tab Ramos’ United States roster includes a number of players who could go on to success with the senior national team. One player, Fulham midfielder Emerson Hyndman, already has a cap with the top side.

Ramos had a number of options but was able to select a squad largely composed of players currently on professional teams.

"Selecting the final 20 players was extremely difficult," he said in a news release. "This is a group that has a lot of depth. It’s a group that has gotten good results throughout the last 12 to 14 months, regardless of the players we’ve had in. A lot of players have made a good case for being on the team, but in the end, unfortunately, you can only take so many (players). I am very happy with the group we’ve selected.

"Overall, this is a group made up mostly with professional players, and that’s a strength. These are players who are completely dedicated to the sport; players who 100 percent of the time prepare to do well, to get better, and be on the National Team."

The U.S. begins the tournament Jan. 9 when it faces Guatemala.

Full roster:

Goalkeepers: Ethan Horvath (Molde FK/Norway); Zack Steffen (Freiburg/Germany)

Defenders: Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur/England); Conor Donovan (North Carolina State University); Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls); Shaquell Moore (Currently without club); John Requejo (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Tyler Turner (Orlando City SC)

Midfielders: Fernando Arce (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Russell Canouse (Hoffenheim/Germany); Lynden Gooch (Sunderland/England); Emerson Hyndman (Fulham/England); Junior Flores (Borussia Dortmund/Germany); Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas); Joel Sonora (Boca Juniors/Argentina)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Romain Gall (Columbus Crew); Bradford Jamieson (LA Galaxy); Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)