Roosters lose for 4th time in 4 NRL matches to start season

SYDNEY (AP) The Sydney Roosters lost for the fourth time in as many matches to start the season, Brisbane beat state rivals North Queensland in a replay of last year's grand final and the South Sydney Rabbitohs were embarrassed by the Canterbury Bulldogs in weekend National Rugby League matches.

The Roosters looked headed for their first win when they led 16-8 just after halftime Saturday but the Manly Sea Eagles had tries from Dylan Walker and Jamie Lyon for a 22-20 comeback victory. Lyon also kicked five goals for the Sea Eagles.

Anthony Milford kicked a 40-meter field goal with 18 seconds left in extra time to give Brisbane a 21-20 win over North Queensland in the grand final rematch.

North Queensland co-captain Johnathan Thurston, who kicked the winning field goal in a 17-16 Cowboys' extra time grand final victory last year, had his try in the final minute of extra time disallowed because officials ruled Thurston had fumbled the ball as he crossed the try line.

At the end of the match at Brisbane, Thurston complained to the referees about that call and another disallowed North Queensland try in extra time because of a forward pass.

''The decisions overshadowed what was a great spectacle,'' Thurston said.

Despite his team's win, Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett said he's still not a fan of the golden point format.

''I can cop it for a club match if that's what we have to put up with but not when you get to the playoffs,'' Bennett said. ''Golden point isn't a way to determine the grand final.''

On Friday, the Bulldogs overwhelmed South Sydney 42-12 after leading 32-0 at halftime. The Rabbitohs were playing without the injured Sam Burgess, who is recovering from a neck injury.

Center Josh Morris, in his 200th game, scored two first-half tries for the winners. Bulldogs captain James Graham's 140 meters gained in the first half equaled South Sydney's entire starting forward pack.

The Gold Coast Titans beat Canberra 24-20, ending the Raiders' unbeaten start to the season.

St. George Illawarra hosts Penrith in the only match Sunday.

Three matches on the holiday Easter Monday will conclude the fourth round – Newcastle travels to Auckland to play the New Zealand Warriors, West Tigers host Parramatta and Cronulla plays Melbourne.