T.J. Ward voted Browns’ 2013 Ed Block Courage Award recipient

BEREA, Ohio — Cleveland Browns DB T.J. Ward has been chosen by his teammates to receive the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award. The Ed Block Courage Award is given annually to a member of each of the 32 NFL teams who exemplifies the qualities of Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, based on courage, compassion, commitment and community. All 32 winners will be honored at an event in Baltimore.

Ward, who sustained a knee injury in 2012 and was placed on injured reserve, ranks second on the team this season with 106 tackles (84 solo), leads the club with 13 tackles for loss, boasts two interceptions and seven passes defensed and has missed only one or zero defensive snaps in nine of 13 contests. During the Browns’ 37-24 primetime victory against the Buffalo Bills in Week 5, he registered his first career interception-return touchdown in the game’s final two minutes to secure the win.

This past year, Ward supported Browns PLAY 60 through school visits and hosting youth football camps, helped provide turkeys to Northeast Ohio families for Thanksgiving and sponsored a community season-ticket program, which provides tickets, apparel and food for the Boys & Girls Club. Ward, who will host a holiday shopping spree for local children in need tonight, established the T.J. Ward Foundation, focused on providing young people with the tools needed to become strong, responsible men and women by emphasizing education, family values and community.

Ward will be presented the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award Tuesday at Providence House’s 18th Annual Deck the House Benefit at FirstEnergy Stadium, with the dinner program beginning at 6 p.m. Browns OL Joe Thomas and his wife, Annie, will serve as honorary co-chairs for the event.

Cleveland Browns Ed Block Courage Award winners:

1984 WR Willis Adams
1985 DE Carl Hairston
1986 TE Ozzie Newsome
1987 RB Earnest Byner
1988 LB Eddie Johnson
1989 T Cody Risien
1990 RB Kevin Mack
1991 CB Mark Harper
1992 WR Lawyer Tillman
1993 WR Patrick Rowe
1994 LB Carl Banks
1995 DB Bennie Thompson
1999 DE Derrick Alexander
2000 LB Jamir Miller
2001 OG Jeremy McKinney
2002 TE Mark Campbell
2003 DL Courtney Brown
2004 RB Lee Suggs
2005 LB Kenard Lang
2006 K Phil Dawson
2007 DB Gary Baxter
2008 WR Joe Jurevicius
2009 WR Mike Furrey
2010 LB Eric Barton
2011 LB D’Qwell Jackson
2012 P Reggie Hodges
2013 DB T.J. Ward