Oregon State wins Pac-12 wrestling; ASU 3rd

TEMPE, Ariz.– Arizona State had three individual runners-up while finishing in third place at the Pac-12 wrestling championships on Saturday at Wells Fargo Arena.

Oregon State repeated as conference champs with 158 points, followed by Boise State at 136.5 and ASU at 110.5. Boise State’s George Ivanov, who the individual champ at 157 pounds, was named Most Outstanding Wrestler.

For ASU, top-seeded Jake Meredith suffered a 4-0 loss to second-seeded Taylor Meeks of Oregon State at 197 pounds; top-seeded freshman Blake Stauffer lost 10-4 to second-seeded Bryce Hammond of Cal State Bakersfield at 174; and second-seeded Kevin Radford lost 3-1 to top-seeded Jake Swartz of Boise State at 184.

The Sun Devils had a pair of third-place finishers: Heavyweight Levi Cooper and 149-pound Nathan Hoffer.
Meredith, Stauffer, Radford and Cooper earned automatic bids for the 2013 NCAA Championships, which begin March 21 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Oregon State and Boise State each earned three individual conference championships: Mike Mangrum (141), Meeks (197) and Chad Hanke (heavyweight) for the Beavers; and Jason Chamberlain (149), Ivanov (157) and Swartz (184) for the Broncos.

The other individual champs were Cal State Bakersfield’s Tyler Iwamura at 125, Cal Poly’s Devon Lotito at 133 and Stanford’s Bret Baumbach at 165.

ASU just held on for third place in the team standings, followed by Cal State Bakersfield (108.5), Stanford (103.5) and Cal Poly (82).