Mizzou’s Pinkel named Maxwell Coach of the Year finalist

ST. LOUIS — Mizzou’s Gary Pinkel has been named a

finalist for the prestigious Maxwell Football Club’s Coach of the Year

Award after helping guide the Tigers to an 11-1 overall record and

Southeastern Conference Eastern Division title in the school’s second

season in the league.

Pinkel, finishing up his 13th

season with Mizzou, has won a conference division title in four of the

last seven seasons and recently matched legendary Tigers head coach Don

Faurot with an all-time program-best 101 wins. This year’s squad became

just the third team in program history to win 11 games or more in a


Mizzou currently sits at No. 5 in the Bowl

Championship standings heading into Saturday’s SEC Championship Game vs.

BCS No. 3 Auburn in Atlanta.

Duke’s David Cutcliffe

and Auburn’s Gus Malzahn join Pinkel as finalists for the award with

the winner set to be announced on December 19.