Minnesota to host 2018 NCAA Frozen Four

MINNEAPOLIS — The State of Hockey will be the center of

college hockey in 2018.

The NCAA and the University of Minnesota announced Wednesday

that the school will serve as the host for the 2018 Frozen Four in men’s

hockey, with the games set to be played at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

“We are extremely excited to be selected to host the

2018 NCAA Frozen Four,” Minnesota head coach Don Lucia said in a

statement. “The Xcel Energy Center, the city of St. Paul and the

University of Minnesota have a great history of hosting first-class events and

we look forward to continuing that tradition over the next few years.”

Along with the Frozen Four in 2018, the Gophers will also

host the 2016 NCAA West Regional at Xcel Energy Center. The University of

Minnesota last hosted the Frozen Four in 2011, when Minnesota-Duluth beat

Michigan in the title game. Prior to that, the Gophers’ last time hosting the

tournament’s final rounds was in 2002, with Minnesota taking home the title.

The 2018 event will mark the eighth time in school history

that the Gophers have hosted the Frozen Four, dating back to 1958.

Follow Tyler Mason on Twitter