Mbakwe, Andre Hollins named All-Big Ten

After once again leading the Big Ten in rebounding, Minnesota senior forward Trevor Mbakwe was named to the All-Big Ten second team by the media when the conference awards were announced Monday.

Mbakwe, a sixth-year senior, averaged 8.7 rebounds along with 10.0 points per game this season for the Gophers. The St. Paul native was also third in the Big Ten in blocked shots with 1.5 per game. He also earned third team All-Big Ten honors this season by the coaches. Mbakwe was named second team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and the media during his junior season, when he led the conference in rebounding.

Mbakwe wasn’t the only Gopher honored by the conference on Monday. Sophomore guard Andre Hollins earned All-Big Ten third team honors by the media and honorable mention All-Big Ten by the coaches. The Memphis native averaged 13.9 points and 3.5 assists for the Gophers, highlighted by a 41-point effort against his hometown Memphis team in November.

Michigan’s Trey Burke was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, while Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan earned the conference’s Coach of the Year honors. Burke, Indiana’s Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller and Ohio State’s Deshaun Thomas were all named All-Big Ten first team by both the coaches and the media. Ohio State guard Aaron Craft made the media’s first- team list, while Tim Hardaway, Jr., of Michigan was named first-team All-Big Ten by the coaches.

Follow Tyler Mason on Twitter.