Gamera-Shmyrko wins 3rd straight Osaka Women’s Marathon

OSAKA, Japan (AP) Tetyana Gamera-Shmyrko of Ukraine on Sunday won her third straight Osaka International Women’s Marathon.

Gamera-Shmyrko finished in 2 hours, 22 minutes, 9 seconds. She was followed by Jelena Prokopcuka of Latvia in 2:24:07 and Risa Shigetomo of Japan in 2:26:39.

The only other runner to win this race three consecutive times was Romania’s Lidia Simon, from 1998 to 2000.