Franklin, Fisher headline All-MW honors

The Aztecs cleaned up in the Mountain West’s conference awards on Monday.

Sophomore guard Jamaal Franklin earned First-Team All-Mountain West honors, ranking second in free throw percentage (.866), third in rebounding average (9.9) and field goal percentage (.463), seventh in blocked shots (10) and tied for ninth in minutes played per game (34.0). Franklin also ran away with the Mountain West player of the year award, becoming the first Aztec underclassmen to win the award in the school’s history and the third sophomore to win the award in MWC history — the first since Utah’s Andrew Bogut in 2005.

Coach Steve Fisher won Mountain West coach of the year for the second straight season after the Aztecs exceeded preseason expectations and won their second straight Mountain West conference title. Despite low preseason expectations after losing four starters and six lettermen, the Aztecs topped the MWC with a 10-4 conference record and 24-6 record overall.

Other players that made the All-Mountain West team: Junior guard Chase Tapley (Second-team All-Mountain West team); Senior forward Tim Shelton (All-defensive team); honorable mention for All-Mountain West team; and Xavier Thames (honorable mention for All-Mountain West team).