Butler to annouce Packers second round pick

NEW YORK (AP) — For the second straight year, the league will have retired players announce the choices by their former teams in the second round.

Four-time Pro Bowl safety LeRoy Butler will represent the Packers. Drafted in the second round out of Florida State, Butler played in Green Bay from 1990-2001 and was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in 2007.

Butler intercepted 38 passes and recorded 20.5 sacks in his 12-year career, which was spent exclusively in Green Bay.

Second-round pick turned Hall of Famer Dermontti Dawson (Steelers) and former Saint Willie Roaf will both be inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. The group announced Monday includes four other Hall of Famers: the Lions’ Barry Sanders, the Raiders’ Willie Brown, the Cardinals’ Roger Wehrli and the Dolphins’ Dwight Stephenson.

Washington, Oakland, New Orleans and Arizona do not have second-round selections, so their representatives will announce their third-round picks.

The other players are Alge Crumpler (Falcons), Matt Stover (Ravens), Phil Hansen (Bills), Mike Rucker (Panthers), Otis Wilson (Bears), Isaac Curtis (Bengals), Gary Collins (Browns), Chad Hennings (Cowboys), Terrell Davis (Broncos), Anthony Carter (Vikings), Danny Clark (Texans), Marvin Harrison (Colts), Fred Taylor (Jaguars), Will Shields (Chiefs), Troy Brown (Patriots), Michael Strahan (Giants), Wesley Walker (Jets), Brian Westbrook (Eagles), Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt (Rams), Courtney Hall (Chargers), Jesse Sapolu (49ers), Walter Jones (Seahawks), Dexter Jackson (Buccaneers), Eddie George (Titans), and Ken Harvey (Redskins).