Braxton Miller named to Davey O’Brien watch list

Press release from The Ohio State University;

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State sophomore quarterback Braxton Miller was named today to the watch list for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. This is the second major national award preseason watch list that Miller, from Huber Heights, Ohio and Wayne High School, has been named. Last week he was named to the Maxwell Trophy watch list.
Miller, the Big Ten Conference’s Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year award winner in 2011, threw for 1,159 yards and 13 touchdowns and rushed for 715 yards and seven touchdowns last year.
Semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien award – 16 of them – will be named Oct. 22. The Davey O’Brien Foundation and the selection committee will announce three finalists Nov. 19 and the winner will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards show Dec. 6.   
Six different Buckeyes are now being “watched” by 10 major national award organizations/selection committees.
Buckeyes on 2012 Preseason Watch Lists:
Lott IMPACT Award – Senior DL John Simon
Bednarik Award – John Simon and Junior DL Johnathan Hankins
Maxwell Trophy – Sophomore QB Braxton Miller
Mackey Award – Senior TE Jake Stoneburner 
Lou Groza Award – Junior K Drew Basil
Outland Trophy – Johnathan Hankins
Nagurski Award – John Simon and Johnathan Hankins
Butkus Award – Sr. LB Etienne Sabino
Lombardi Award – John Simon, Johnathan Hankins and Jake Stoneburner
Davey O’Brien Award – Braxton Miller