AP PHOTOS: Iditarod, ‘The Last Great Race’

A blizzard meant a wild end to the world’s most famous sled dog race early Tuesday morning. Dallas Seavey was the first to cross the famed burled arch finish line in Nome to win his second Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. He secured the victory after front-runner Jeff King was blown off course by the storm and runner-up Aliy Zirkle was sidelined at the final checkpoint.

The winner of the grueling 1,000-mile trek through unpredictable Alaska wilderness gets $50,000 and a new truck. The 29 teams after that receive cash prizes decreasing on a sliding scale. All other teams finishing the race get $1,049.

Here’s a collection of photos from the ”Last Great Race.”

Associated Press photographers and photo editors on Twitter: http://apne.ws/15Oo6jo