Brazil, Spain, Britain kept apart in Olympic draw

Brazil, Spain, Britain and Mexico have been chosen as seeded

teams for the men’s Olympic soccer tournament and will be kept

apart at Tuesday’s group-stage draw. The draw will separate

European and Latin American teams.

In the 12-team women’s draw, Olympic champion United States,

world champion Japan and Britain are the seeded and will be kept

apart in the four groups.

Britain, with a men’s team at the Olympics for the first time

since 1960, will lead Group A. World champion Spain will headline

Group D. Brazil – the best men’s soccer team in Olympic history –

is the seeded team in Group C.

Senegal became the last of the 16 teams to qualify. It beat Oman

2-0 on Monday in the final qualifier at Coventry’s Ricoh Arena, one

of the six host venues for the games.