Xavier hands out postseason awards

Xavier held a reception for season ticket holders Tuesday night and revealed winners of the team’s yearly awards.

Headlining the honors was guard Semaj Christon, who was named the winner of the George E. "Skip" Prosser Award for the second consecutive year. Named after the late former Xavier head coach, the Prosser Award is presented annually "to the player who exemplifies the qualities the coach admired."

Christon, a sophomore who has announced he will forego his final two seasons of eligibility to enter the NBA draft, led the Musketeers in scoring at 17.0 points per game and earned first-team All-Big East honors in the team’s first season as a member of the league.

Center Matt Stainbrook won the Connie Brown Award as the team’s most inspirational player after earning All-Big East honorable mention during his junior campaign, redshirt freshman forward Jalen Reynolds picked up the Gordon E. Nead Award (most improved player) and junior guard Dee Davis won the Lew Hirt Society Coach’s Award as a player the coaching staff felt stood out "in some significant way."