Three Blue Jackets make NHL All-Star roster

Nick Foligno and Ryan Johansen join Sergei Bobrovsky as the three representatives of the Columbus Blue Jackets for the 2015 NHL All-Star Game on January 25, 2015.

Columbus, Ohio – For the first time in the history of the Blue Jackets franchise, multiple players have been named to the NHL All-Star roster for the NHL All-Star Game on January 25, 2015.

Forwards Nick Foligno and Ryan Johansen and goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky have been selected to the NHL All-Star roster. They are three of thirty-six players selected to participate that weekend. They join the six players already voted to participate by the fans: Zemgus Girgensons of the Buffalo Sabres and Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook and Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Each of the thirty teams will have at least one representative that weekend. 21 forwards, 10 defensemen and 5 goalies join the six that were voted in. 

The Los Angeles Kings (Anze Kopitar, Drew Doughty), the Philadelphia Flyers (Claude Giroux, Jake Voracek), Pittsburgh Penguins (Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin) and the Tampa Bay Lightning (Tyler Johnson and Steven Stamkos) all had two forwards selected to the roster.

Former Blue Jackets forward Rick Nash, who played in five All-Star Games for Columbus, will represent the New York Rangers. St. Loius Blues defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk and forward Vladimir Tarasenko and Nashville Predators goalie Pekka Rinne will all make their first appearance. Nashville defenseman Shea Weber was selected for the fourth time.

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin was chosen for the fifth time. Roberto Luongo (Florida Panthers) and Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens) were chosen for the fourth time.

There are eight other players making their first appearance at the All-Star Game: Arizona Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron, Calgary Flames defenseman Mark Giordano, Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Justin Faulk, Colorado Avalanche defenseman Erik Johnson, Edmonton Oilers forward Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Ottawa Senators forward Bobby Ryan and the Vancouver Canucks forwzrd Radim Vrbata.

The following players are returning to the All-Star Game: Anaheim Ducks forward Ryan Getzlaf (third appearance), Dallas Stars forward Tyler Seguin (second), Detroit Red Wings goalie jimmy Howard (second), Minnesota Wild defenseman Ryan Suter (second), New Jersey Devils forward Patrik Elias (fourth), New York Islanders forward John Tavares (second), Toronto Maple Leafs forward Phil Kessel (third), San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns (second), and Winnipeg Jets defenseman Dustin Byfuglien (second).

The teams will be coached by Peter Lavilette of the Nashville Predators and Darryl Sutter of the Los Angeles Kings.

The rookies, who will compete only in the Skills Competition on Jan. 24, are Calgary Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau, Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad, L.A. Kings forward Tanner Pearson, Nashville Predators forward Filip Forsberg, Ottawa Senators forward Mike Hoffman and Tampa Bay Lightning forward Jonathan Droin.

The 2015 NHL All-Star Weekend runs January 22-25 in Columbus, Ohio.