Ohio State earns fifth seed in Big Ten tournament

The Buckeyes will take on 12th seed Purdue in the opening round of the Big Ten tournament.

Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

Ohio State is going to have to go the long way in the Big Ten tournament.

The Buckeyes open the tournament Thursday as the No. 5 seed and will play No. 12 seed Purdue at approx. 2:30 p.m.

The winner plays No. 4 Nebraska at the same time Friday. Nebraska earned the four seed with its win Sunday night over Wisconsin.

The Buckeyes, Cornhuskers and Boilermakers will be on the top of the bracket under No. 1 seed Michigan, which will play the Indiana-Illinois winner. Wisconsin is the No. 2 seed and Michigan State is No. 3.

Ohio State has won the Big Ten tournament in three of the last four years. Michigan State has won the tournament on three occasions, including the last time the event was held in Indianapolis in 2012. Under Thad Matta, Ohio State has won the event four times when it’s been held at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.