Buckeyes’ Russell named finalist for Jerry West Award

Buckeyes guard D'Angelo Russell has been one of the nation's standout freshmen.

Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

Ohio State freshman D’Angelo Russell has been named to the watch list for the inaugural Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, released Thursday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Russell is 6-foot-5 and averages 19.1 points, 5.8 rebounds and 5.5 assists for the Buckeyes, who are 19-7 heading into Sunday’s game at Michigan. He was one of 16 players named to the award watch list.

Joining Russell on the list:

Tyler Haws (Brigham Young); Tyler Harvey (Eastern Washington); James Blackmon Jr. (Indiana); Sheldon McClellan (Miami, Fla.); Rashad Vaughn (UNLV); Trevor Lacey (NC State); Jerian Grant (Notre Dame); Buddy Hield (Oklahoma); Joseph Young (Oregon); D’Angelo Harrison (St. John’s); Chasson Randle (Stanford); Malcolm Brogdon (Virginia); Ron Baker (Wichita State); Marcus Thornton (William & Mary); E.C. Matthews (Rhode Island).

The watch list was compiled by a committee of college basketball personnel. It is named in honor of West, considered one of the all-time great college guards while playing at West Virginia from 1956-60.

"I’m honored with be associated with this award," said West, a 1979 Hall of Fame inductee. "The 16 shooting guards on this list have worked extremely hard to get to this point and it’s nice to see the Basketball Hall of Fame recognize them for their efforts."