NHL All-Star Weekend: Skills Competition rosters are set

Nick Foligno #71 of the Columbus Blue Jackets of Team Foligno hugs fellow Blue Jackets teammate Ryan Johansen #19 of the Columbus Blue Jackets after selecting Johansen for Team Foligno during the 2015 NHL All-Star Fantasy Draft as part of the 2015 NHL All-Star Weekend at the Greater Columbus Convention Center on January 23, 2015 in Columbus, Ohio. 

Dave Sandford/NHLI via Getty Images

Columbus, Ohio – After a Fantasy Draft that was highly entertaining on Friday evening, the team captains and their assistants met this morning to set their rosters for the Skills Competition taking place Saturday evening at Nationwide Arena.

Team Foligno, led by Nick Foligno and his two assistant captains Patrick Kane and Drew Doughty, will go head-to-head with Team Toews, led by Jonathan Toews and his two assistant captains Rick Nash and Ryan Getzlaf. The teams will compete collectively and also have individual champions crowned from the events. The order in which they players will participate will be determined by the captains just prior to the start of each event.

Here are the lineups for the six events in the Skills Competition.

Fastest Skater

Team Foligno: Phil Kessel, Jonathan Drouin, Jiri Sekac and Zemgus Girgensons. For Team Toews: Tyler Seguin, Mike Hoffman, Aaron Ekblad and Vladimir Tarasenko.

Breakaway Challenge

Team Foligno: Ryan Johansen (selected by fans in an online vote), Alex Ovechkin, Claude Giroux and Brian Elliott. For Team Toews: Vladimir Tarasenko, Jakub Voracek, Johnny Gaudreau and Corey Crawford.

Accuracy Shooting

Team Foligno: Nick Foligno, Bobby Ryan, Radim Vrbata, Patrick Kane, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (passer) and Anze Kopitar (passer). Team Toews: Ryan Getzlaf, Patrice Bergeron, John Tavares, Jonathan Toews, Rick Nash (passer) and Patrick Elias (passer).

Skills Challenge Relay

NHL legacy project builds a treehouse, and happiness, at Columbus Ronald McDonald House

Team Foligno (Relay 1): Drew Doughty, Ryan Johansen, Steven Stamkos (all three – one-timer RH), Brent Burns (one-time passer), Anze Kopitar (mini net passer), Kevin Shattenkirk (puck control), Patrick Kane (stick handling) and Carey Price (goalie goals).

Team Toews (Relay 1): Shea Weber, Justin Faulk, Tyler Seguin (all three – one-timer RH), Ryan Getzlaf (one-time passer), John Tavares (mini net passer), Johnny Gaudreau (puck control), Mike Hoffman (stick handling) and Jaroslav Halak (goalie goals).

Team Foligo (Relay 2): Zemgus Girgensons, Duncan Keith, Nick Foligno (all three – one-timer LH), Jiri Sekac (one-time passer), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (mini net passer), Drew Doughty (puck control), Oliver Ekman-Larsson, ARI (stick handling) and Marc-Andre Fleury (goalie goals).

Team Toews (Relay 2): Mark Giordano, Ryan Suter, Jakub Voracek (all three – one-timer LH), Patrice Bergeron (one-time passer), Tyler Johnson (mini net passer), Vladimir Tarasenko (puck control), Filip Forsberg (stick handling) and Roberto Luongo (goalie goals).

Hardest Shot

Team Foligno: Alex Ovechkin, Brent Burns, Steven Stamkos and Dustin Byfuglien. For Team Toews: Brent Seabrook, Aaron Ekblad, Justin Faulk and Shea Weber.


Team Foligno                                 Team Toews

Round 1

The Skills Competition starts at 7 p.m. at Nationwide Arena and will be televised on NBCSN.