Cavs’ Bennett left off All-Rookie team

Improved performance towards the end of the season didn't sway All-Rookie team voters. 

You don’t gauge an NBA career by who made the All-Rookie team, and for more than half of last summer’s lottery selections, that’s probably a good thing.

The league’s All-Rookie squad was released Thursday, and eight of the 14 lottery picks failed to make the list. That included No. 1 overall pick Anthony Bennett of the Cleveland Cavaliers, who became the fifth top selection since 1988 not to make the squad.

Bennett joined Greg Oden, Kwame Brown, Danny Manning and Pervis Ellison in such a distinction.

The Cavs’ 6-foot-8 forward struggled from the start, entering the season following shoulder surgery and weight gain. However, he made some small strides and displayed enough athleticism and skills to give the Cavs hope for his future.

Bennett received just one vote to make the team, courtesy of New York Daily News writer Mitch Lawrence.

Other 2013 lottery picks who failed to make the team: Washington’s Otto Porter (drafted No. 3 overall); Phoenix’s Alex Len (No. 5); Philadelphia’s Nerlens Noel (No. 6); Sacramento’s Ben McLemore (No. 7); Detroit’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (No. 8); Portland’s C.J. McCollum (No. 10); and Minnesota’s Shabazz Muhammad (No. 14).

Cavs rookie guard Matthew Dellavadova, who went undrafted and signed as free agent prior to training camp, received 20 votes, including three first-place votes.

Here are the 2013-14 All-Rookie teams:

First Team

Michael Carter-Williams, Philadelphia; Victor Oladipo, Orlando; Trey Burke, Utah; Mason Plumlee, Brooklyn; Tim Hardaway Jr, New York.

Second Team

Kelly Olynyk, Boston; Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee; Gorgui Dieng, Minnesota; Cody Zeller, Charlotte; Steven Adams, Oklahoma City.

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first place votes in parentheses):

Ben McLemore, Sacramento, 63 (4); Pero Antic, Atlanta, 62 (10); Nick Calathes Memphis, 39 (2); Ryan Kelly, L.A. Lakers, 29; Matthew Dellavedova, Cleveland, 20 (3); Nate Wolters, Milwaukee, 20; Ray McCallum, Sacramento, 8; Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Detroit, 6; Hollis Thompson, Philadelphia, 5; Tony Snell, Chicago, 4; Phil Pressey, Boston, 2; Anthony Bennett, Cleveland, 1; Reggie Bullock, L.A. Clippers, 1; Robert Covington, Houston, 1; Alex Len, Phoenix, 1; C.J. McCollum, Portland, 1; Shabazz Muhammad, Minnesota, 1; Andre Roberson, Oklahoma City, 1; Jeff Withey, New Orleans, 1.