Carrasco gets spot in Indians rotation

Cleveland Indians pitcher Carlos Carrasco throws against the Cincinnati Reds in the third inning of an exhibition baseball game in Goodyear, Ariz., Thursday, Feb. 27, 2014. (AP Photo/Paul Sancya)

Paul Sancya/AP

GOODYEAR, Ariz. — The Indians have made the final decisions in regards to their Opening Day roster. Carlos Carrasco has earned the final spot in the starting rotation while Scott Atchison and Blake Wood got the final slots in the bullpen.

Carrasco pitched six solid innings in Monday’s 8-3 win over the Reds. The right-hander allowed three runs on nine hits, striking out five and walking none. Josh Tomlin, who was also vying for a rotation spot, has been optioned to Triple-A Columbus.

General manager Chris Antonetti said there were some discussions about starting the year with Tomlin in the bullpen but they didn’t feel that was in the best interest of Tomlin or the organization.

Said Antonetti: "Both guys had good camps. What we tried to do was make a decision that was not solely focused on the Opening Day roster but what gave our team the best chance to win as many games as possible over the course of the season. Part of that is making sure we have a lot of options and depth."

Terry Francona also announced on Thursday that Danny Salazar will pitch the Tribe’s home opener on April 4 against the Twins and that Carrasco’s first start will be on April 5. There was some thought that the fifth starter would not be needed the first trip through the rotation because of the off day between the Oakland and Minnesota series but Francona said that pitching coach Mickey Callaway thought it would be important for all the pitchers to get an extra day of rest between starts.

Francona names Santana starting 3B, for now

Here is the roster as it stands:

Infield: Nick Swisher, Jason Kipnis, Asdrubal Cabrera, Carlos Santana, Mike Aviles, Lonnie Chisenhall, Elliot Johnson

Outfield: Michael Brantley, Nyjer Morgan, David Murphy, Ryan Raburn

Catcher: Yan Gomes

Pitchers: Rotation — Justin Masterson, Corey Kluber, Zach McAllister, Carlos Carrasco, Danny Salazar; Bullpen — Cody Allen, Scott Atchison, John Axford, Josh Outman, Vinnie Pestano, Marc Rzepczynski, Bryan Shaw, Blake Wood

Disabled list — Michael Bourn (hamstring), Jason Giambi (rib)