Bengals, OL Pollak reach three-year deal

Cincinnati Bengals guard Mike Pollak during the game against the Detroit Lions at Ford Field.

Andrew Weber

CINCINNATI — Mike Pollak came to the Bengals last year looking for a shot to show he can still be a productive offensive lineman. He did just that and now the sides have agreed to continue their relationship for a few more years.

Some final paperwork remains to be signed, sealed and delivered but as first reported on Thursday and then Alex Marvez of Fox Sports 1 later further confirmed, the Bengals and Pollak have agreed to terms on a new contract that will keep Pollak off of the free agent market. Marvez confirmed that the deal is for three years.

Pollak played in eight games with five starts at right guard for the Bengals last season. He got his chance to play when Kevin Zeitler suffered a foot injury. Pollak missed the first six games of the season with a knee injury he sustained in the preseason but ended up being one of line coach Paul Alexander’s most reliable players.

The new contract keeps in line with the Bengals’ philosophy of re-signing as many of their own free agents as possible. Free agency is set to begin next Tuesday, although there is a pre-free agency window that opens on Saturday allowing teams to begin negotiating with free agents. Contracts can be agreed to during that period but nothing can be signed with new teams until Tuesday.

The Bengals now have 13 potential free agents with Pollak off of the market. Defensive end Michael Johnson and offensive tackle Anthony Collins should receive the most interest from other teams. The Bengals tendered offers to their three restrictive free agents – linebacker Vinny Rey, wide receiver Andrew Hawkins and wide receiver Dane Sanzenbacher.

Rey, Hawkins and Sanzenbacher will have the right to negotiate with other teams but by tendering offers to the players, the Bengals retain the right to match any offer the players receive.

PHOTOS: Bengals Cheerleaders

Bengals free agents

UFA: DE Michael Johnson, OT Anthony Collins, DB Brandon Ghee, OG Mike Pollak*, OT Dennis Roland, S Taylor Mays, DB Chris Crocker, WR Brandon Tate, LB Michael Boley, TE Alex Smith, P Zoltan Mesko.

RFA: LB Vinny Rey, WR Andrew Hawkins, WR Dane Sanzenbacher.

*Agreed to terms with Bengals