Gophers guard Marcus Carr named to AP All-Big Ten first team

Minnesota Gophers guard Marcus Carr was named to the Associated Press All-Big Ten first team on Tuesday. Carr was also named to the All-Big Ten second team by the media and All-Big Ten third team by coaches.

More Gophers coverage

The only other Gophers player to get a postseason nod was Gabe Kalscheur, who was Minnesota’s honoree for the conference sportsmanship award.

While playing a league-high 35.6 minutes per game, Carr finished third in the Big Ten with averages of 19.6 points and 4.9 assists per contest.

His average of 17.4 points per game at Minnesota is the program’s best career scoring mark since Mychal Thompson logged 20.8 points from 1975-78.

After earning the No. 13 seed for the conference tournament, Minnesota will battle Northwestern in the first round Wednesday. If the Gophers advance, they’ll face Ohio State on Thursday.




Guard — Marcus Carr, Minnesota, Jr., 6-2, 195, Pittsburgh.

u-Guard — Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois, Jr., 6-5, 200, Chicago.

u-Center — Luka Garza, Iowa, Sr., 6-11, 265, Washington, D.C.

Forward – Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana, So., 6-9, 245, Greenwood, Indiana.

Forward – E.J. Liddell, Ohio State, So., 6-7, 240, Belleville, Illinois.



Guard — Joe Wieskamp, Iowa, Jr., 6-6, 212, Muscatine, Iowa.

Guard — Franz Wagner, Michigan, So., 6-9, 220, Berlin, Germany.

Center — Kofi Cockburn, Illinois, So., 7-0, 285, Kingston, Jamaica.

Forward — Isaiah Livers, Michigan, Sr., 6-7, 230, Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Forward — Trevion Williams, Purdue, Jr., 6-10, 265, Chicago.


Coach of the year — Juwan Howard, Michigan.

Player of the year — Luka Garza, Iowa, Sr., 6-11, 265, Washington, D.C.

Newcomer of the year — Hunter Dickinson, Michigan, Fr., 67-1, 255, Alexandria, Virginia.