Gophers’ 2015-16 schedule set, as nonconference games announced

The Gophers’ complete 2015-16 schedule has been set, as the men’s basketball team announced its nonconference slate on Monday.

Before Big Ten competition begins, Minnesota will play eight home games, as well as four neutral-site contests, including a return trip to the Caribbean for the Puerto Rico Tip-Off tournament.

Richard Pitino’s squad starts the season with two exhibitions at Williams Arena in November, first against Minnesota Crookston (Nov. 1) and then Southwest Minnesota State (Nov. 6). A week later, the Gophers officially open their regular season with a home game against Missouri-Kansas City. A couple days after that, they host Louisiana-Monroe.

Then, it’s off to Puerto Rico for the second year in a row, where the Gophers will play three games in four days. First up is a matchup with Temple (Nov. 19), followed the next day by a game against either Butler or Missouri State. Their third opponent is to be determined.

Following Thanksgiving, Minnesota has a four-game homestand, commencing with Nebraska Omaha on Nov. 27. After that, the Gophers will participate in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge, in which they’ll host Clemson on Nov. 30. Then, they welcome South Dakota (Dec. 5) and South Dakota State (Dec. 8) to Williams Arena.

On Dec. 12, the Gophers travel to Sioux Falls, S.D., for a neutral-site game against Oklahoma State. Then it’s back home for the final two nonconference contests, Dec. 16 vs. Chicago State and Dec. 23 against Milwaukee.

Minnesota’s 18-game Big Ten schedule kicks off Dec. 30 at Ohio State.

2015-16 Gopher Men’s Basketball Schedule (game times TBA)

Date Opponent
Nov. 1 Minnesota Crookston (exhibition)
Nov. 6 Southwest Minnesota State (Exhibition)
Nov. 13 Missouri-Kansas City
Nov. 15 Louisiana-Monroe
Nov. 19 Temple (Puerto Rico Tip-Off)
Nov. 20 Butler/Missouri State (Puerto Rico Tip-Off)
Nov. 22 TBD (Puerto Rico Tip-Off)
Nov. 27 Nebraska Omaha
Nov. 30 Clemson
Dec. 5 South Dakota
Dec. 8 South Dakota State
Dec. 12 vs. Oklahoma State (at Sioux Falls, S.D.)
Dec. 16 Chicago State
Dec. 13 Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Dec. 30 at Ohio State
Jan. 2 Michigan State
Jan. 5 at Penn State
Jan. 9 Northwestern
Jan. 12 at Nebraska
Jan. 16 Indiana
Jan. 20 at Michigan
Jan. 23 Illinois
Jan. 27 Purdue
Jan. 30 at Indiana
Feb. 4 at Northwestern
Feb. 10 Michigan
Feb. 14 at Iowa
Feb. 18 Maryland
Feb. 23 Rutgers
Feb. 28 at Illinois
March 2 Wisconsin
March 5 at Rutgers
March 9-13 Big Ten Tournament