Gophers kicker, defensive tackle named to AP All-Big Ten football team

Defensive tackle Steven Richardson chases down a running back during the second half in the 2015 Citrus Bowl (Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports)

Jim Dedmon/Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

The Minnesota Golden Gophers this weekend accepted a trip to the Holiday Bowl but they’re receiving more good news. A panel of 26 writers and broadcasters from the 11 Big Ten states selected kicker Emmit Carpenter to the Associated Press first team All-Big Ten, and defensive tackle Steven Richardson to the second team.

Carpenter’s resume this season seats him atop the conference. The redshirt sophomore from Green Bay made 21 of 23 field goal attempts (a 91.3 percent clip) and missed just one extra point in 42 attempts. His season-long is 53 yards.

Richardson finished the season with 30 tackles (17 solo), 11 tackles for a 53-yard cumulative loss, and a team-leading seven sacks.

College Football Playoff-bound Ohio State led the way with eight players on the first team. The only other player named to the first team on every ballot was running back Saquon Barkley of conference champion Penn State. He was also named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers is the defensive player of the year and Ohio State running back Mike Weber the newcomer of the year. Penn State’s James Franklin is coach of the year.

More Gophers Coverage

The full list is below:



Quarterback–J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, 6-2, 222, Jr., Wichita Falls, Texas.

Running backs–u-Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 223, So., Coplay, Pennsylvania; Justin Jackson, Northwestern, 5-11, 193, Jr., Carol Stream, Illinois.

Offensive tackles–Erik Magnuson, Michigan, 6-6, 305, Sr., Carlsbad, California; Ryan Ramczyk, Wisconsin, 6-6, 314, Jr., Stevens Point, Wisconsin.

Offensive guards–Dan Feeney, Indiana, 6-4, 305, Sr., Orland Park, Illinois; Billy Price, Ohio State, 6-4, 315, Jr., Austintown, Ohio.

Center–u-Pat Elflein, Ohio State, 6-3, 300, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio.

Tight end–Jake Butt, Michigan, 6-6, 250, Pickerington, Ohio.

Wide receivers–Austin Carr, Northwestern, 6-1, 200, Sr., Benicia, California; Curtis Samuel, Ohio State, 5-11, 197, Jr., Brooklyn, New York.

All-purpose player–Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 205, Jr., East Orange, New Jersey.

Place-kicker–Emmit Carpenter, Minnesota, 6-0, 199, So., Green Bay, Wisconsin.


Holiday Bowl Bound

Defensive ends–Taco Charlton, Michigan, 6-6, 272, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio; Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State, 6-4, 266, Jr., Tarboro, New Jersey.

Defensive tackles– Jaleel Johnson, Iowa, 6-4, 310, Sr., Lombard, Illinois; Malik McDowell, Michigan State, 6-6, 276, Jr., Detroit.

Linebackers–Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State, 6-2, 243, Jr., Hinesville, Georgia; Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 205, Jr., East Orange, New Jersey; T.J. Watt, Wisconsin, 6-5, 243, Jr. Pewaukee, Wisconsin.

Cornerbacks–Desmond King, Iowa, 5-11, 203, Sr., Detroit; u-Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, 5-11, 186, Sr., Detroit.

Safeties–Nate Gerry, Nebraska, 6-2, 220, Sr., Sioux Falls, South Dakota; Malik Hooker, Ohio State, 6-2, 205, So., New Castle, Pennsylvania.

Punter–u-Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, 5-11, 198, graduate senior, Geelong, Australia.



Quarterback–Trace McSorley, Penn State, 6-0, 205, So., Ashburn, Virginia.

Running backs–Corey Clement, Wisconsin, 5-11, 227, Sr., Glassboro, New Jersey; Mike Weber, Ohio State, 5-10, 212, Fr., Detroit.

Offensive tackles–Ben Braden, Michigan, 6-6, 335, Sr., Rockford, Michigan; Jamarco Jones, Ohio State, 6-5, 310, Jr., Chicago.

Offensive guards–Brian Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 304, Jr., Hinsdale, Illinois; Kyle Kalis, Michigan, 6-5, 305, Sr., Lakewood, Ohio.


FS North on Facebook

FS North on Twitter

FS North on YouTube

FS North on Instagram

Center–Mason Cole, Michigan, 6-5, 305, Jr., Tarpon Springs, Florida.

Tight end–Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin, 6-6, 248, Jr., Aurora, Illinois.

Wide receivers–Amara Darboh, Michigan, 6-2, 215, Sr., West Des Moines, Iowa; DeAngelo Yancey, Purdue, 6-2, 205, Sr., Atlanta.

All-purpose–Curtis Samuel, Ohio State, 5-11, 197, Jr., Brooklyn, New York.

Place-kicker–Tyler Davis, Penn State, 5-11, 180, Jr., St. Charles, Illinois.


Defensive ends– Ifeadi Odenigbo, Northwestern, 6-3, 265, Sr., Centerville, Ohio; Chris Wormley, Michigan, 6-6, 302, Sr., Toledo, Ohio.

Defensive tackles–Ryan Glasgow, Michigan, 6-4, 299, Sr., Aurora, Illinois; Steven Richardson, Minnesota, 6-0, 300, Jr., Chicago.

Linebackers–Vince Biegel, Wisconsin, 6-4, 245, Sr., Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin; Josey Jewell, Iowa, 6-2, 235, Decorah, Iowa; Tegray Scales, Indiana, 6-0, 230, Jr., Cincinnati.

Cornerbacks–Marshon Lattimore, Ohio State, 6-0, 192, So., Cleveland; Sojourn Shelton, Wisconsin, 5-9, 168, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Safeties–Godwin Igwebuike, Northwestern, 6-0, 205, Jr., Pickerington, Ohio; Leo Musso, Wisconsin, 5-10, 194, Waunakee, Wisconsin.

Punter–Kenny Allen, Michigan, 6-4, 222, Sr., Fenton, Michigan.


Coach of the year: James Franklin, Penn State.

Offensive player of the year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State.

Defensive player of the year: Jabrill Peppers, Michigan.

Newcomer of the year: Mike Weber, Ohio State.