NHL rescinds penalty for Pens’ Letang

Count Kris Letang as the rare Penguins defenseman who received some good news early this season.

He was informed Saturday morning that the NHL rescinded his major penalty for an illegal hit to the head.

"It’s really important," he said before the Penguins played the Flyers at Wells Fargo Center. "You never know what is going to happen during a game. You don’t want to have one of those against you early in the year and then miss an important game late in the season because something happened."

He was ejected from a home win Friday against the New York Islanders after on-ice officials judged his second-period collision with left wing Blake Comeau was in violation of Rule 48, which penalizes a player for blindside hits to the head. Replays showed Letang and Comeau collided shoulder to shoulder.

Had Letang’s penalty not been stripped, he would have been subject to suspension if he incurred a second major penalty for an illegal hit to the head.